top of page

How to make a good playlist on Spotify

Music is my passion. I can understand music more than anything else without actually understanding it. At any time, you can catch me listening to music. I have always enjoyed music a lot more than others, it’s one of the many ways I am different than the rest of my peers. However, my love of music is different than a band kid's love of music. I think of myself as someone who in a sense, studies music. Whether the way it's made, the way a composition could be so much similar yet different than another composition, etc. As time has gone on, I have discovered how to make playlists. I’ve used several different platforms to make playlists on and from experience, I have expanded my knowledge on how to make the perfect playlist. Most of the time I stream my music from my Spotify premium account, which throughout the past year has become my holy grail and the platform where I create my playlists.

I consider creating playlists off of Spotify one of my most cherished hobbies. I love to make individual playlists for various different things. Whether the playlist is for special occasions, friends, seasons, genres, or months. Making a playlist for your friend on Spotify is the modern day early 2000 making-a-mixtape-for-someone-you-care-about process. If you either grew up in the early 2000’s, had teenage siblings, or watched a teen movie in the 2000’s, you’re familiar with this process. For those who aren’t, the process is basically either catching feelings for someone or being so close with someone you decide to make them a mixtape of an abundance of songs that reminded you of them. What you would do was buy a package of empty CD’s at your local drug store, gather songs on your computer, and burn them onto the disc. You would then take a sharpe of any color and label either the set list, a name of your mixtape, etc. Due to growing up with two teenage sisters back in the early 2000’s, I am very familiar with this process. I have my two sisters to thank for my diversity in the music I listen to. One sister listened to punk rock, alternative, and rock n roll, while the other one listened to rap, r&b, and pop. Thanks to them, I have always been really big into music, but as time goes on I’m starting to get more into making playlists and discovering new artists. Personally, the perfect playlist incorporates a few throwback songs of your liking, then a boat load of music you genuinely enjoy, including those good songs on albums that don’t get recognized.

"Every single one of us can be a DJ . We each have the ability to be an influencer, a critic – a purveyor of fresh musical content for the masses” (Cifani).

The diversity of music within a playlist is what can make a playlist so superior. Personally, I think in order to make a good playlist, you need diversity. I am a person who enjoys most music genres. Most of the playlists that make up my collection include rap, pop, alternative, punk rock and r&b, which are the music genres I listen to the most. Spotify is one of the best ways to listen to music on a mobile cell phone, tablet, or computer. Spotify is a unique streaming system in which it it mixed with social media and music. With Spotify, you are able to search for any track, artist, or album and listen to it for free. However, there is a way you can stream any track, artist, or album without being interrupted by commercials. This luxury is called Spotify premium. Compared to Apple Music, Spotify premium is much cheaper for the same amount of music. By using Spotify, you can make and share playlists and build your own music collection. Thanks to Spotify, my friends and I are able to create playlists for one another and share new music that we discover with one another more efficiently. It allows me to listen to playlists made by my friends and have them listen to the playlists I have composed.

While creating a killer playlist, you always want to remember these important components in order to make your playlist successful:

  1. Choose a variety of songs - but stay constant to your theme

  2. Don’t pick songs that don’t relate to any of the others - stay relevant

  3. Create a vibe

  4. Be yourself

  5. Know how to sequence tracks, even if there is a shuffle option.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page